Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

BOE Names 2020 Officers

BOE 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                                            

January 10, 2020                                                                                                                                        


Vandalia-Butler School District Elects 2020 President and Vice President


(Vandalia-Butler)    On January 7, 2020, the Vandalia-Butler Board of Education held its scheduled Annual Organization Meeting.  Nominated for president was Rodney Washburn, and for vice president was Holly Herbst. The two nominations passed, each with four yeses and one abstain.

In addition to the nominations for officers, the Board approved the 2020 meeting schedule, annual purchasing approvals, and established protocols and Board Service Fund as required by Ohio Revised Code. All items voted on during the organization meeting will remain in effect through December 31, 2020.

During the opening of the meeting, Treasurer/CFO Eric Beavers administered the Oath of Office to Washburn and Mary Kilsheimer. Washburn and Kilsheimer ran for re-election in the 2019 election, and both won.

Melissa Pruszynski held a board member position in 2019, before campaigning and winning a seat on the Butler Township Board of Trustees. She resigned as a Vandalia-Butler Board member on November 30, 2019.

Following Board policy for filling a board vacancy, the remaining members of the Board listed the job and concluded their search after interviewing nine candidates.

The Board chose Daniel Pierron to fulfill the vacancy. Pierron took his Oath of Office on December 17, 2019, during the regular monthly meeting. Pierron joins Washburn, Herbst, Kilsheimer, and Scott Fullam as the members of the Vandalia-Butler Board of Education.